The Grand Canyon – again and again….

It snowed as I drove into the Grand Canyon area. It was also April and cold. So why do you get up at 4:00 in the morning get your gear and venture out… and freeze your butt out? Now that’s a question that gets thrown at me ever so often. Mather Point on the South Rim at 4:45 am-  the wind is howling but the canyon is still as still and silent, spiritually silent and waits ever so patiently for the sun to rise.

The "Grand" grand golden canyon at Sunrise

The “Grand” grand golden canyon at Sunrise- Sunrise moments at surendra.smugmug.com

Suddenly Mather Point comes alive as if from nowhere busloads of visitors mingle around taking ever square inch of space. “Shitsuei” “Sumimasen” “Arigato” followed by moments of silence as you gawk open mouth at the golden landscape unfold. I try to get as many shots and lose many to excited neighbours tripping on my tripod. And I am not annoyed for they have as much right to be there as I do. So I stand back and enjoy every unfolding moment.

Golden moments in the morning

Golden moments in the morning

and see the landscape transform as the hours crawl by:

The Grand Canyon

The Grand Canyon

By mid day it’s warmer. The Canyon is home to Indian tribes who have lived here and continue to live here for centuries with a rich heritage:

Navajo Artwork

Navajo Artwork- more artwork at surendra.smugmug.com

Hopi House

Hopi House

It was time to get ready for the sunset:

Colorado River early evening

Colorado River early evening

and watch the shadows paint a colorful palette:

Sunset and the Colorado river

Sunset and the Colorado river

waiting for the magic to begin:

Sunrays peep through the clouds

God’s rays peep through the clouds

The golden evening magic

The golden evening magic

and the sun sets on the Canyon:

The sun sets on the Canyon

The sun sets on the Canyon

…..so why do I want to be there at 4 in the morning in biting butt freezing cold. There’s why, because I love it there… Need I say more…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sursaxeng

I love travel and photography. Send me to places awe inspiring and beautiful.
This entry was posted in Nevada Arizona Parks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Grand Canyon – again and again….

  1. Awesome photos, so beautiful.

  2. Mona says:

    It’s been years since I’ve been to the Grand Canyon. Your post is urging me to get out there.

  3. Roselinde says:

    Great photos 😀 I must go there at least once in my life!

Leave a Reply

