An evening stroll on Embarcadero, San Francisco

“When you get tired of walking around in San Francisco, you can always lean against it.”~Unknown

All photos at surendra.smugmug.com

“One day if I do go to heaven~
I’ll look around and say, ‘It ain’t bad, but it ain’t SanFrancisco”.

A city that never tires you where things happen as if it was the norm…

“Chicago is the great American city, New York is one of the capitals of the world, and Los Angeles is a constellation of plastic; San Francisco is a lady”- Norman Mailer

This weekend I took a walk on the Embarcadero, no I missed some spots, the ball park for sure, for I started out on Ferry Terminal (Picture Ferry Terminal  ) to Pier 39 a mere mile and a half a walk that took me slightly over 2 and a half hours. That walk has been captured at surendra.smugmug.com in the Embarcadero album. (Right Click to open Embarcadero Walk album in a new Tab).

From Lights and Shadows to cozy strolls or impatient wait or Gandhi by the Bay or just a late afternoon siesta on a bucket the Ferry terminal offers a variety. Speed boat vs Tankers or an evening sail by the Bay, even a newly married couple straight from the vows where else but by the Embarcadero.

Coit Tower and the Transamerica follow you every step of the way with different views and as the sun sets the lights come on.

“The Golden Gate Bridge’s daily strip tease from enveloping stoles of mist to full frontal glory is still the most provocative show in town.”~ Mary Moore Mason, editor of British magazine Essentially America.

There it was the Golden Gate Bridge hugged by a single stitch of a cloud, golden in a golden sunset.

“I love this city. If I’m elected, I will move the White House to San Francisco. I went to Fisherman’s Wharf and they even let me into Allioto`s. It may be Baghdad by the Bay to you, but to me it’s Resurrection City” – Robert Kennedy

Allioto’s at night enchanting even from the outside if they do not let you in…..

“San Francisco has only one drawback. ”Tis hard to leave”- Rudyard Kipling


About sursaxeng

I love travel and photography. Send me to places awe inspiring and beautiful.
This entry was posted in San Francisco and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

